Home | francais  | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

The research at DFIU

The exact knowledge of the natural environment and its impact on external influences, the assessment of the dangers to man and ecosystems, as well as the development of solutions that take account of technical, economic and legal aspects require an interdisciplinary and cooperative approach involving several partners involved. Research activities are carried out by working groups in close collaboration with selected research facilities (setting up networks depending on the issues addressed) and, in conjunction with administrative institutions and affected bodies in each country or region. These working groups are composed of German and French scientists of various disciplines.

 

DFIU research primarily involves the techno-economic analysis and assessment of emission reduction techniques and production-integrated environmental protection measures, the analysis of energy systems, the development of operational, national and international, across company's borders strategies for emission reduction, as well as the development of closed-loop systems and strategic, operational production planning. Current research topics include renewable energies, CO2 emissions trading, energy and material use of biomass, energy and resource efficiency in various industrial sectors, and risk management.

 

The interdisciplinary approach to project processing is characteristic of the institute. The externally funded research is carried out a.o. for the UNECE (the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe), the European Union, the Federal Environment Agency, the state of Baden-Württemberg, ADEME / France, various ministries such as BMBF and BMWi, foundations and industry.

Home | francais  | english  | Impressum | KIT

Forschung am DFIU

Die genaue Kenntnis der natürlichen Umwelt und ihrer Beeinträchtigung durch äußere Einflüsse, die Bewertung der davon ausgehenden Gefahren für  Mensch und Ökosysteme sowie die Erarbeitung von Lösungen, die technischen, wirtschaftlichen und rechtlichen Aspekten Rechnung tragen, bedürfen eines interdisziplinären und kooperativen Ansatzes, an dem mehrere Partner beteiligt sind. Die Forschungsaktivitäten werden in enger Zusammenarbeit mit ausgewählten Forschungsein­richtungen (Aufbau von Netzwerken je nach behandelten Fragestellungen) und - in Verbindung mit Verwaltungsinstitutionen und betroffenen Stellen in jedem Land oder jeder Region - von Arbeitsgruppen durchgeführt. Diese Arbeitsgruppen setzen sich aus deutschen und französischen Wissenschaftlern unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen zusammen.

Die Forschung des DFIU umfaßt in erster Linie die techno-ökonomische Analyse und Bewertung von Emissionsminderungstechniken und produktions­inte­grier­ten Umweltschutzmaßnahmen, die Analyse von Energie­systemen, die Entwicklung betriebs­bezogener, zwischen­betrieblicher, nationaler und inter­nationaler Strategien zur Emissionsminderung sowie zum Aufbau von Kreislaufwirt­schaftssystemen und Frage­stellungen der strate­gischen, taktischen und operativen Produktionsplanung. Aktuelle Forschungsthemen befassen sich beispielsweise mit erneuerbaren Energien, dem CO2-Emissionshandel, der energetischen und stofflichen Nutzung von Biomasse, der Energie- und Ressourceneffizienz in verschiedenen Industriesektoren und dem Risikomanagement.

Die interdisziplinäre Ausrichtung bei der Projektbearbeitung ist charakteristisch für das Institut. Die Drittmittelforschung wird u. a. für die UNECE (United Nations Economic Commission for Europe), die Europäische Union, das Umweltbundesamt, das Land Baden-Württemberg, ADEME/Frankreich, für verschiedene Ministerien wie BMBF und BMWi, Stiftungen sowie die Industrie ausgeführt.